Myanmar

In 2019, 1001fontaines opened in Myanmar to accelerate the replication of its model in Southeast Asia’s poorest country.

Local Partner

Network Activities Group (NAG)

Local water brand

Daw Ahnya, “Our Dry Zone”

A WORD FROM
THE COUNTRY MANAGER

The situation in Myanmar today is the same as it was in Cambodia 15 years ago: only 3% of the population has a water supply system. The infant mortality rate is among the highest in Southeast Asia, and 29% children below five are stunted.
We decided to focus on the Dry Zone, in the center of the country, which stands among the poorest areas in natural resources. We relied on our local partner to facilitate the start. In the past two years, we have successfully deployed the pilot phase, and want now to extend our model on a regional scale, with the ambition to accelerate and replicate the Cambodian success story.

Amandine Chaussinand

Our impact today

2
Water Kiosks

3,200
beneficiaries

99%
beneficiaries satisfied with the water quality

2020
launch of the Water in School program, reaching 2,000 children

Our ambition

– 1 –

Set up 25 water kiosks serving 75,000 people, including 25,000 children

– 2 –

Create a regional platform to support our entrepreneurs (monitoring, coaching, maintenance)

– 3 –

Set up a local organization able to deploy our model at a large scale

In the past, people would die because of water, and that was just how it was. We did not know it was water that had killed them. Through my participation in the building of a 1001fontaines’ Water Kiosk, I want to do like my grandfather, when he planted a palm tree to bring sugar to his children and grandchildren: pass on to the next generations the chance of drinking safe water forever. Today, I am 60 and my life is done, but thanks to this water kiosk, my children, grandchildren and great grandchildren will drink water that won’t make them sick.

U Soe Lwin Aye, Leik Kan village

Myanmar

En 2019, 1001fontaines s’implante au Myanmar pour accélérer la réplication de son modèle dans l’un des pays les plus pauvres d’Asie du Sud-Est.

Partenaire local

Network Activities Group (NAG)

Marque de l’eau produite

Daw Ahnya, « Notre Dry Zone »

LE MOT DU DIRECTEUR PAYS

La situation du Myanmar est la même qu’au Cambodge il y a 15 ans : seuls 3% de la population disposent d’un système d’approvisionnement en eau. Le taux de mortalité infantile est l’un des plus élevés d’Asie du Sud-Est, et 29% des enfants de moins de 5 ans souffrent d’un retard de croissance.

Nous avons choisi de nous concentrer sur la « Dry Zone » au centre du pays, région parmi les plus pauvres en ressources naturelles en nous appuyant sur un partenaire local pour faciliter le lancement. En deux ans, nous avons initié avec succès la phase pilote et nous souhaitons maintenant déployer notre modèle à l’échelle régionale avec une ambition d’accélération pour renouveler la success story cambodgienne. 

Amandine Chaussinand

Notre impact aujourd’hui

2
Water Kiosks

3 200
bénéficiaires

99 %
de bénéficiaires satisfaits par la qualité de l’eau

2020
lancement du programme Water In School avec 2 000 enfants bénéficiaires

Notre ambition

– 1 –

Créer 25 Water Kiosks pour servir 75 000 personnes dont 25 000 enfants

– 2 –

Créer une plateforme régionale d’accompagnement des entrepreneurs (suivi, coaching, maintenance)

– 3 –

Mettre en place une organisation locale capable de déployer le modèle à grande échelle grâce au savoir-faire de 1001fontaines

Autrefois, les gens mouraient à cause de l’eau et c’était comme ça. On ne savait pas que c’était l’eau qui les tuait. En participant à la construction d’un Water Kiosk 1001fontaines, je veux faire comme mon grand-père lorsqu’il a planté un palmier pour donner du sucre à ses enfants et petits-enfants : transmettre aux générations futures la chance de boire une eau potable à vie. Aujourd’hui, j’ai 60 ans et ma vie est derrière moi , mais grâce à ce Water Kiosk, mes enfants, petits-enfants et arrières petits-enfants pourront boire une eau qui ne les rendra pas malades.

U Soe Lwin Aye, village de Leik Kan